Recipe of the Week: Greek Lemon Chicken & Potatoes

It might be a little early to call this the “recipe of the week,” but because I’ve served Chef John’s Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes a few other times to great reviews, I know this recipe is a winner. As Chef John says in the beginning of the video, chicken and potatoes are pretty cheap (especially chicken thighs on the bone), making this an ideal meal to serve a crowd.

When I made this on Monday, I used (gasp!) bottled lemon juice, which I’m pretty sure is exactly what Chef John is afraid of when he emphasizes using fresh lemon juice in the above video. But when you’re serving this to 40…that’s a lot of lemons! Chef John, I promise if I ever make this recipe for just four people, I will use a real lemon, but for 40…let’s be realistic. I am one person. So if you’re making this for a crowd, I’ll tell you that nothing goes horrifically wrong if you use bottled lemon juice. In a blind taste test you could probably tell the difference, but why would you want to make dinner for people who are doing blind taste test comparisons of your food? Whether your lemon juice comes from a real lemon, or from a green bottle, just make this Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes!

Leave a Reply

