Recipe of the Week: “Winter Greens” Pesto

When Michael and I camped with a large group last week, I had little time to prep much of anything in advance. Last year, I made and froze several meals for our week long group camping trip, but this year, I just didn’t have the time. But I did have the time for this:

Pesto Pasta, by Daniel Go at flickr.com.

Pesto Pasta, by Daniel Go at flickr.com.

Homemade, “winter greens” pesto, à la thekitchn.com! I just whipped it up a few days in advance of the trip, refrigerated it, and then tossed it with pasta on our first evening of camping. I love, Love, LOVE this recipe. I’ve made it about four times in the past month, twice for the whole gang, and twice for Michael and I. It freezes beautifully, and it’s a great way to use up any and all greens you have kicking around the garden or in the back of your fridge. The first time I made it, I used a mixture of swiss chard, beet greens, spinach, and a tiny bit of basil. Last week I used 100% spinach. Another time I used 100% beet greens. It goes without saying that this could be a useful tool to sneak some veggies into your own diet, or into the diet of a proclaimed veggie-hater.

I’ve always shied away from making pesto because basil is not cheap in huge quantities, but this pesto is THE way to get some of this green goodness in your life, without going into basil farming. It also uses toasted walnuts instead of pine nuts, so it’s cost-effective on that front as well. I leave out the parmesan and don’t miss it at all, making it vegan/dairy-free.

Toss it with pasta, mix it with a bit of oil and vinegar and lemon juice for a salad dressing, spread it on a sandwich, drizzle it on your eggs. You. Will. Love. It. Get the recipe at thekitchn.com!

Leave a Reply

