Recipe of the Week: Honey Ginger Tofu and Veggie Stir Fry

You don’t have to be a vegetarian, vegan, or hippie to eat tofu. When prepared well, it is a delicious, protein-packed way to enjoy a meatless meal. If you’ve had a bad tofu experience, please don’t assume you don’t like tofu…you’ll miss out! Once I made tofu quiche for Michael and I. It was as disgusting as it sounds. But here we are, eating tofu and loving it.

On Monday I made honey ginger tofu and veggie stir fry a la Pinch of Yum, and I got a very positive response, which one doesn’t always expect with a meatless meal. The trick is frying the tofu until crispy on the outside, and making sure it has some time to sit in the sauce. Tofu is pretty much a sponge – it absorbs the flavours you surround it with, so if you have a delicious sauce, and you let your tofu hang out in that sauce for a while, you’ll have delicious tofu. It is possible!

Doesn’t it look amazing? You don’t want to miss out on this. I made this for a big crew, and if you’re doing the same, the only change I would suggest is slicing the tofu, frying it until crispy, and then cubing it. It was a bit tricky to try and get all the cubes crispy at the same time, so frying it in slices will ensure more even crispiness, though of course only on two sides of what will become your tofu cubes. And while I love the carrot ribbons, I totally julienned my carrots using the food processor. Time to peel a dozen carrots into ribbons I have not.

Take the soy-protein plunge, and try the recipe today!

Leave a Reply

