Recipe of the Something: Lentil Quesadillas

I can’t really call this the “Recipe-of-the-Week” because I have been fantastically unfaithful to that notion, so let’s say these lentil quesadillas from A Pinch of Yum are the Recipe-of-the-Something. The fortnight? The month? The season? I guess it depends on when I post the next recipe.

We have a lot of guests this week, as we host meetings for the Western Canadian Leadership Team. I made these lentil quesadillas on Tuesday, and one of our guests specifically told me he has a grudge against lentils, but he really enjoyed these quesadillas! It’s amazing what cheese and guacamole can do for the humble lentil. Or just about anything you think you don’t like.

I followed A Pinch of Yum’s recipe almost exactly, but instead of cooking the lentil and rice mixture in the slow cooker, I cooked it on the stove-top for approximately 45 minutes. This gives you precisely enough time to putter around making a salad and set the table for 30 people.

If you’re gluten-free and/or dairy-free, the lentil and rice mixture tastes fabulous in a bowl with some guacamole and salsa, and I understand it freezes well. Bonus! Try it out, and tell me what you think!

 

Leave a Reply

