Recipe Resources

When people find out I (Helen) plan eleven meals a week for 20+ people, they often ask where I get my recipes. My typical answer is “google” or “pinterest,” and while that’s certainly true, I do find myself heading to some of the same sites and recipe books over and over. The following are a few of my favorite recipe resources, in no particular order; I hope you’ll check them out!

  1. foodwishes.blogspot.ca. Considering the number of times I’ve referenced this site in my “Recipe of the Week” series, it should come as no surprise that this is a go-to for me! Chef John creates entertaining videos demonstrating his tried and tested recipes; his chicken tikka masala is a firm favorite.
  2. ohsheglows.com. Don’t tell anyone, but this is a vegan cooking website! While I don’t believe meat has to be present in every meal, I know my opinion isn’t necessarily universally accepted (especially in Alberta!). Nevertheless, I like to include a few vegetarian and even vegan meals throughout the week, for health and budgetary reasons. I also have blogger Angela Liddon’s Oh She Glows cookbook, which I use often, though mainly for personal cooking. In addition to being a great resource for vegan recipes, many of the recipes on the blog and in the cookbook, are gluten-free. Some fave recipes from ohsheglows.com include the black bean and butternut squash burritos and the vegan tortilla soup.
  3. damndelicious.net. I hesitated to include this one because of the name, but it really is a great resource for recipes, and I use this site often for Asian-inspired meals. I found this site via Pinterest, and the Thai peanut beef recipe has proven to be a winner around here. I also really enjoy the one-pan Mexican quinoa recipe.
  4. smittenkitchen.com. This blog has been around for 8+ years, and with good reason: every recipe I’ve tried from this site has been a winner. While I’ve mostly experimented with Smitten Kitchen’s sweet recipes, the soft pretzels recipes is such a favorite amongst our friends, I’m making them as an appetizer for a wedding I’m catering this summer!
  5. bbcgoodfood.com. Okay, I mostly use the BBC’s cooking sites for Mary Berry’s baking recipes, as seen on the Great British Bake Off (with which I am more than slightly obsessed), but this site has all sorts of great recipes, sweet and savory. This week I’ll be trying a Thai green chicken curry recipe from BBC Good Food; hopefully this curry will turn out as well as Mary Berry’s chocolate fondant tart, or her Bakewell tart!

These are just a few of my go-to resources. Others include Bread & Wine by Shauna Niequist, Elizabeth Gordon’s allergy-free focused cookbooks, allrecipes.com, and of course, Pinterest. You can follow my “Feeding the Masses” board on Pinterest to see what recipes I’m trying! Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

