Recipe of the Week: Carne Asada Tacos

I (Helen) have been away most of the week, spending time with friends and family in the Edmonton area. Before I left, for Tuesday’s supper, I made carne asada tacos. I had lots of help; we spent a lot of time chopping tomatoes and other goodies for fresh pico de gallo, putting the food processor to work making garlicky guac, shredding lettuce, and warming tortillas. I love Mexican food, and after being in Tijuana for three months last Fall, it’s fun to incorporate some authentic Mexican flavors into our week.

8656873040_4a1a32351d_k

Carne Asada Tacos, picture © of James at flickr.com.

The recipes for the grilled meat and pico come from Tyler Florence of Food 911, a show I’ve never seen…I found the recipe on foodnetwork.com. It’s important to get started on these in the morning, marinating the beef in the mojo, for up to eight hours. I skipped out on serving the tacos with cheese, as we’re running low, but also because I didn’t see a whole lot of cheese served with tacos in the part of Mexico we were in. Do warm the tortillas…it makes a world of difference. Yum.

Leave a Reply

