Recipe of the Week: Recipe Round-Up Edition

I (Helen) had a recipe all picked out for this week’s recipe of the week, but because I don’t have time to take pictures of food, and because I didn’t hear back from a blogger about using the photo from her site, that plan got nixed. So instead of posting one recipe, here are links to some of the favorite recipes of the week!

  1. Lasagna Soup – It can be hard to find soup recipes that are filling and delicious, but this soup fits the bill; we didn’t even serve any bread with it, because it really is like having a piece of lasagna in a bowl. The only thing we changed about the recipe was to leave out the ricotta (didn’t have any), and to stir the other cheeses into the soup before serving.
  2. Lo Mein – one of the reasons this meal was popular was because I served it with fried Chinese-style dumplings, but in and of itself, this was a very enjoyable dish. This recipe is one of those great fridge-cleaners; you can basically throw any vegetables you have into the mix. I used mushrooms, peppers, frozen peas, and carrots. This is easily made gluten free if you use rice noodles and gluten-free soy sauce.
  3. Pork Roast with Mango Salsa – this was Michael’s favorite meal of the week! We recently got some frozen mango in, and that really helped with reducing the prep time for the salsa – all that chopping is a time-consuming task when cooking for a crowd! By cutting the mango when it was still a little frozen, the dicing actually went fairly quickly. I coated the pork in the rub in the morning, and cooked it several hours later. Served with quinoa pilaf and salad.
  4. Chocolate Roulade – this was a dessert I made for a weekly Downton Abbey get-together. The cake is naturally gluten-free, and I found lactose-free whipping cream at the grocery store! I’d be really curious to see if this would hold its shape if it was made with coconut “whipped cream.” I really enjoyed this, though my roulade didn’t roll as beautifully as I would have liked. If cracks in the cake add charm, my roulade was utterly charming.
  5. Sweet Potato Black Bean Burritos – when I make a vegetarian meal that everyone likes, I consider it a win; when I make a vegan meal that everyone likes, that is a major victory! I made this back in the summer on a group camping trip, and someone told me “I can’t believe I like this so much when there’s no meat in it!” The original recipe uses butternut squash, but sweet potato and pumpkin are offered as alternatives. I really enjoyed this as a salad topper, while everyone else had it in wraps, with a variety of toppings. I hope there’s leftovers.

What have you been cooking this week? Any recipes you’d recommend?

One thought on “Recipe of the Week: Recipe Round-Up Edition

  1. I really enjoy reading your recipe posts of stuff you’ve tried for the base! So fun to check out those recipes! I love the lo mein noodle sauce! Yum! That’s a staple in my home 🙂 Mmmmm!

Leave a Reply

