Recipe of the Week: Tom Kha Shrimp!

Because Michael and I are in the kitchen quite a lot in the next several months at YWAM TV, and because I get to plan the menu and find the recipes for the menu (even though I don’t cook all the meals, thank goodness!), I thought it would be fun to share a “recipe of the week” with you! We are super blessed to have a lot of the food here donated to us, so some recipe manipulation will definitely be par for the course, and today’s recipe is no exception.

Without doubt, the most popular meal of the week this week was Wednesday lunch’s Tom Kha Gai, which is Thai soup with chicken…except I used shrimp, because that’s what I had. Google translate tells me that “shrimp” in Thai is “Kûng,” possibly making this “Tom Kha Kûng” but I didn’t want to take the chance of getting it horribly wrong in the title of this post! It’s fun to make Thai food here, because Thailand is our “target nation,” and we often send mission teams to that nation. It’s also a little nerve-wracking to make Thai food at YWAM TV, because people know what the real thing tastes like…

I served the soup with rice noodles on the side so they didn’t lose their al dente-ness over time, and so that people could have as many or as few noodles as they liked in the soup. The recipe comes from Chef John of Food Wishes, a fantastic blog I have been pouring over the last few weeks as I’ve been menu-planning (thanks for recommending, Heather!). If you haven’t checked out his blog, do it! I multiplied the recipe by six to serve a group of about eighteen, with enough for seconds. I added the shrimp in a little later than the turkey is added in the video, because those critters get tough if you cook ’em too long.

Chef John’s blog is really a video blog, with a sort of “mini cooking show” for each recipe. So rather than just copying out the recipe, I’ve included his video below, and of course, you can get the ingredient quantities on his blog! And to borrow Chef John’s signature send-off…En-joy!

2 thoughts on “Recipe of the Week: Tom Kha Shrimp!

Leave a Reply

