From This Valley

Maybe because it’s the beginning of February and winter seems endless but the wind doesn’t quite seem to be in my sails as of late. Spending time with God seems difficult, passion for work and life seems to escape me. As I read the Psalms, however, I know I’m not alone in these feelings. David cried out to God on multiple occasions, for many reasons. Today I read the well-known verse “Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning” (Psalm 30:5). I may need to sub in the word “apathy” for “weeping,” but I can trust that God’s joy is coming.

The following, Grammy-winning song by the Civil Wars is much like a Psalm; an honest cry to God, and an expression of hopefulness that the valley times aren’t forever. Enjoy, and if you are in a season of struggle, weeping, or apathy, know that God’s joy is coming. Trust Him and turn to Him, whatever season you’re in.

Oh the desert dreams of a river
That will run down to the sea
Like my heart longs for an ocean
To wash down over me.

Oh won’t you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above
Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love.

Oh the outcast dreams of acceptance
Just to find pure love’s embrace
Like an orphan longs for its mother
May you hold me in your grace.

Oh won’t you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above
Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love.

Oh the caged bird dreams of a strong wind
That will flow beneath her wings
Like a voice longs for a melody
Oh Jesus, carry me.

Oh won’t you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above
Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love.

2 thoughts on “From This Valley

Leave a Reply

