Tunes for Tuesday: Liz Vice’s “There’s A Light”

While we were in Chiang Rai, Thailand this summer, I got an email that built an anticipation in me; this season of anticipating finally came to fruition last week. The email was from a music collective called Deeper Well; this collective is responsible for a lot of the worship music I have been listening to lately. One of my favorite bands coming out of Deeper Well is The Followers. On their second album, there is an especially soulful track called “Enfold Me;” the vocalist for the song is Liz Vice. The email I received while in Chiang Rai said that Liz Vice was working on a solo album.

Something you may not know about me (Michael) is that I have a special place in my heart for soul/gospel music. Seeing the movie The Commitments as a teenager probably contributed to this. As I received this email, letting me know that Liz Vice’s soul/gospel album was due out shortly, the season of waiting began.

The wait is now over as Liz Vice has released her album, There’s A Light. The album is available for free through Noisetrade or Deeper Well’s website. I have been listening to it non-stop for the last few days, and I have to admit I am as moved by the soulful music as I am by the gospel-filled lyrics. I go back and forth between listening to what Vice is singing about, and how she is singing it. It’s pretty rare for me to find that balance in an album. One stand out song is “Empty Me Out.” Sometimes it’s the simplest of lyrics that are the most profound:

Empty me out/Fill me with You/Lord there is nothing/I can give to You/I lay down my life/Here at Your feet/You give me life/So completely.

I died with You/Was buried with You/The moment I believed/I rose with You/Ascended with You/Into the Heavenlies/Lord, it’s not me/It’s You inside of me/Jesus, You are all/These eyes can see.

When you lay these lyrics over a melody with the groove of this song, I dare you to not be humming this tune for the rest of the day.

Leave a Reply

