Mid-January Resolutions

I (Helen) actually did make New Year’s resolutions at the beginning of 2014, but I’m only just getting around to sharing them now (only 16 days late…!). Surely you can make resolutions any day of the year? I think so.

Last year my resolutions were to: knit a pair of socks, drink more water, sew a dress, and read 25 books. One out of four isn’t bad, is it? I actually knit two pairs of socks though, so surely that must count for something. As for drinking more water, I seem to do a good job of this until about October…then all I want to drink is tea. As for sewing a dress, I can only attribute that to being a big chicken scared of sewing my own clothes, and as for reading 25 books, I read 15, which isn’t too bad. The beauty of New Year’s resolutions is that if you don’t keep them, at least you took a step in the right direction, right? That’s what I’m telling myself. Good thing my New Year’s resolutions don’t involve buying a gym membership.

So without further adieu, here are my resolutions for 2014:

  1. Read 20 books. More doable than 25, I think. Check out my review from the first book I’ve completed in 2014, Half the Sky.
  2. Make a good batch of jam. I have tried making jam a few times in the past, and every time it ends up runny. In the words of someone who received the “gift” of one of my jars of jam, “It tastes good when you can catch it on a spoon.”
  3. Read through Psalms devotionally. Last year I read through the Bible at the same pace as the students, but I missed out on Psalms. This year I’m aiming to meditate on a Psalm a day.
  4. Deeper intimacy with Jesus. This involves more specific goals, such as having regular, more meaningful devotional times and spending more time listening to the Holy Spirit.
  5. Sew a top, a skirt, a dress, and a pair of shorts/pants. Oh boy. Sewing clothes scare me, as I have this fear that as soon as I go out into the world in something I’ve sewn, it will fall apart around me. I feel intimidated cutting into fabric and then not having the skills to sew it up properly. This year I’m going to get over this fear and just make something already!
  6. Knit myself a pair of socks.
  7. Only buy second hand clothes or make my own. I’m exploring what it looks like to be a responsible consumer, and this is hopefully a step in that direction. The exception to this rule will be a bridesmaid’s dress – don’t worry Jill – I won’t sew my own!
  8. Spend more time outside being active.
  9. Drink more water. Even when it’s cold outside. I’m sucking at this so far.
  10. Generosity. Trusting God that He will give us the means to be generous, whether it’s through hospitality, giving, or anything else He might lead us in.

What are your New Year’s resolutions? Or for January 17th, should I say?

5 thoughts on “Mid-January Resolutions

  1. Pingback: The Accidental Muslin | ThreadCrumb Trail

Leave a Reply

