Chai Latte for a Rainy Day

This was supposed to be a blog post about iced coffee, but at 11 degrees C, and pouring rain, our weather was calling for chai this morning. Can you believe it snowed yesterday?! Definitely not iced coffee weather.

I’ve made chai before, and while it tasted good, it became a bit sludgy because I didn’t strain the final product. I also over-brewed the tea, meaning I had to add cups and cups of honey to make it taste even a little bit sweet. Today, I took a different approach. I combined a few different recipes (including the iced coffee recipe I was going to try!), and used a David’s Tea tea filter for the spices, and I was left with a non-sludgy, no-extra-sweetener-required pot of chai tea latte. Yum!

This recipe serves a crowd, and because I was catering to non-dairy drinkers as well as dairy drinkers, I ended up dividing the tea between two pots. Here are the recipes I came up with as best as I can think to replicate them without the complications of splitting the original batch between two different versions.

Chai Latte (With Dairy)

  • 12 cups water
  • 3 tea bags (I used a combination of earl grey and vanilla rooibos)
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • a few good grinds of black pepper
  • 2 – 300mL cans sweetened condensed milk
  • 500 mL half and half
  • 3 tsp vanilla
  1. Bring 12 cups water to boil over stove. Add spices to a tea filter bag.
  2. While waiting for water to boil, combine sweetened condensed milk, half and half, and vanilla.
  3. When water has boiled, add tea bags and spice bag to water. Let brew for about three minutes.
  4. Remove tea bags and spice bag, and set to one side.
  5. Add dairy mix and simmer. Test the tea and if you would like it to be stronger/spicier, put the tea bags and spice bag back in the pot for a few more minutes.

Chai Latte (Non-Dairy)

  • 12 cups water
  • 3 tea bags (I used a combination of earl grey and vanilla rooibos)
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ginger
  • 1/8 tsp cloves
  • a few good grinds of black pepper
  • 1 – 900 mL container sweetened vanilla almond milk (I used Blue Diamond)
  1. Bring 12 cups water to boil over stove. Add spices to a tea filter bag.
  2. When water has boiled, add tea bags and spice bag to water. Let brew for about three minutes.
  3. Remove tea bags and spice bag, and set to one side.
  4. Add almond milk and bring to a simmer. Test the tea and if you would like it to be stronger/spicier, put the tea bags and spice bag back in the pot for a few more minutes.

The dairy version is definitely richer and sweeter; I served the chai latte with a small bowl of brown sugar so that the dairy-free folks who wanted a sweeter tea could add sugar as they wanted, but it was just sweet enough for me!

If it is iced coffee weather where you are, you could always cool this chai and pour it over ice; I’m sure it would be a delicious and refreshing treat! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

