Thankful for These 29

Yesterday was my (Helen’s) 29th birthday. Strange to think that I’m in the last year of my twenties, but I am so thankful that God has brought me to the place I’m at now. Ten years ago I was in my first year of university, miserable, and though I had grown up in the church, I had no personal relationship with God. Fast forward ten years, and I am a full-time missionary, teaching the Word of God, and am (imperfectly) pursuing the Lord with my life. I have so much to be thankful for. Here are 29 things I am especially thankful for as I embark on this last year of my twenties:

  1. My relationship with God. I cannot be more thankful that the Lord pursued me and turned my life around as I surrendered to Him.
  2. A husband that loves me, loves God, and is incredibly servant-hearted, yet can be so silly!
  3. I am thankful for the family I have in Christ. For people who have come alongside me to encourage me and walk with me as I grow.
  4. I am thankful for family, period. My family loves me and hopes the best for me.
  5. I am thankful for the friends God has brought into my life, friends that have been instrumental in my walk with the Lord – friends who showed me what it meant to have a relationship with God.
  6. My niece! As I turned 29, she turned four-months old, and I get to cuddle with her today! My heart is happy.
  7. I am thankful for the ministry God has given me. If you had told me two years ago that I would be teaching the Bible in three-hour stints, I would have laughed at you. I’m thankful that God has given me a love for teaching and for His Word.
  8. I’m thankful for our students. They’re so awesome and fun, and they love Jesus so much.
  9. YWAM Turner Valley. Once again, if you had told me two years ago that I would be doing missions in Southern Alberta, I would have laughed at you. God brought us here for specific reasons, and I am excited to see those reasons continue to unfold.
  10. Dreaming. We love dreaming about what the future will hold, and we especially love it when we feel like we are dreaming God’s dreams for what He wants. Exciting!
  11. The Word. I am so thankful that God revealed Himself to people who wrote as the Spirit instructed. I’m thankful for a very tangible expression of the character of God.
  12. God’s provision. When I look back on the last year, I can say with confidence that God is my Provider.
  13. I’m thankful for the people who support us through prayer and through finances. How could we do what we do if people were not listening to the Lord and coming alongside us?
  14. I’m thankful for health. Struggling for years with health is no way to live, and I’m thankful I don’t have to live that way any more.
  15. I’m thankful for Spring! We probably will get another snow fall (let’s be realistic), but the sun is shining and the temperatures are getting warmer!
  16. I’m thankful for the opportunity to go to Thailand this summer! To experience outreach with my best friend, and to see what God is doing in that nation is so exciting!
  17. I’m thankful for the roof over our heads. Our room here is bigger than our first apartment in Toronto, and though it may be chilly from time to time, it’s our home.
  18. I’m thankful for the opportunity to be in Edmonton over Spring Break! For the chance to see friends and family and rest.
  19. Rest. I’m thankful that God wants us to rest, and that He demonstrated rest for us.
  20. I’m thankful for baking. I’m glad God created me to love to bake, especially to celebrate others!
  21. Creativity. I’m so glad God has given me a love for creating things.
  22.  I’m thankful for tea! And oatmeal! And breakfast!
  23. I’m thankful for the beauty of the mountains, and that I only have to walk a few minutes down the road to be able to see them behind YWAM Turner Valley’s buildings.
  24. I’m thankful for our car. Total God story. Thank You for providing, Lord!
  25. I’m thankful for camping, and the hope of making this summer a camping-Thailand-camping sandwich.
  26. I’m thankful for the friends I have around the world. That’s the beauty and pain of YWAM – you meet amazing people, and then they go back to Norway, to Nepal, or to California.
  27. I’m thankful for Skype! And parcels to/from the corners of the earth!
  28. Did I mention I have the sweetest husband ever?
  29. I’m thankful for the hope I have in Christ. That I am never alone. That He died and rose for me, and that I get to spend eternity with Him.
One thought on “Thankful for These 29

Leave a Reply

