Music Suggestions for My Fellow New-Music Addicts

Confession time: my biggest addiction is music. If I could have a soundtrack to my life, I would. As I sit here writing this post, I am listening to some ambient music so I can focus on what I’m doing and not be distracted by the people around me. I say I am a music-addict because it seems like I can go only so long without needing “a fix:” new music. As a result, I had one request for my wife for Christmas: an iTunes gift card. Even though she would much rather make or buy something to surprise me, she bought me the gift card, and like a kid in a candy store, I was off to find something to get my new-music fix.

Thanks to the beauty of internet sites like Grooveshark, I get a pretty regular fix of music when I am at my computer working, but what I was looking for was some good offline music, and I ended up realizing I needed some new worship tunes. This serves a double purpose: I get new music to inspire my times with God, and I also get to try out playing new songs when I have the opportunity to lead worship here at YWAM Turner Valley. This led me to searching the internet for worship bands that would give me some fresh inspiration. This turned out to be a bit of a difficult task, however, so after my search, I decided I would share some music from the bands I have found interesting – maybe I can help you spend some of the iTunes gift cards you may have received over Christmas, and add to your worship music collection. I recognize much of this music won’t be all that new to some of you, but it has been influential in my life recently, and I hope it will bless yours.

Just click on the album art below, and through the magic of the internet, you’ll be taken to iTunes or Amazon where you can listen to samples of my new favourite tunes. If you want to listen to full songs/albums before you buy, check out my “New Worship” playlist at grooveshark.com.

  
  
  

2 thoughts on “Music Suggestions for My Fellow New-Music Addicts

  1. Thanks for the awesome music! I always ask you two when I am looking for new stuff? Can’t stop listening to Rend Collective and Josh White especially! Your addiction benefits all of us!!! Miss you guys already!

    • I have to give credit to Michael – I pretty much get all my music suggestions from him too! Have you listened to any of the Young Oceans album? I’m really loving it – super mellow. I find it’s one of the only non-instrumental albums I can have as background music while I’m working or praying. Do you have any new music suggestions for us? You introduced me to Jenny and Tyler!

Leave a Reply

